Chairman's Welcome







To all our friends and colleagues: Welcome to Columbus, Ohio!

It is privilege and pleasure, together and on behalf of the whole Steering Committee, to express to each of you our warmest welcome to the 2003 IEEE AP-S Symposium and North American Radio Science Meeting in Columbus, Ohio. This year is special because the North American Radio Science participation will provide papers and discussion on an even wider range of important topics, from Commissions A through K. We can assure you that you will be making a contribution to a great gathering, and you will be benefiting from discussions with many of your friends and colleagues on a large number of interesting topics.

The technical program co-chairs, Ron Marhefka and Jiti Gupta together, with Joel Johnson and Prabhakar Pathak, the URSI commission chairs, along with the 135 technical program committee members have put together a diverse and well-organized technical program. There are 164 total sessions and half-sessions for the 1575 papers to be presented. Roberto Rojas has organized 14 short courses, 7 on Sunday and 7 on Friday. Jin-Fa Lee is coordinating about 40 APS, URSI and joint APS/URSI special sessions. Our 2003 symposium will therefore be a very rich technical event! Also, you'll want to stop by the exhibitor's area, located right at the hub of the meeting area, which has been coordinated by Keith Shubert.

We are indeed proud to acknowledge that the entire ElectroScience Laboratory faculty, research scientists and staff contributed to making this conference a memorable one. In addition to those mentioned above for the technical program, we are pleased to acknowledge the enormous support we were fortunate to have from Frank Paynter on the electronic paper submission and web support. We are also pleased to acknowledge the leadership and support from Brian Baertlein, Bob Burkholder, Teh-Hong Lee, Rob Lee and Eric Walton.

We want to close this welcome with special thanks to our sponsors for their financial support. Northrop Grumman provided the funds for the Tote Bags and favors; Mission Research Corporation provided support for the Welcoming Reception, and the National Science Foundation provided support for the Student Paper Travel Grants.

On behalf of the entire steering committee we look forward to seeing you and greeting here in June. Have a pleasant trip!

Jonathan D. Young and John L. Volakis Symposium Co-chairs